The Power of Subtlety

sleeping_beauty_by_anitaanti-d4kqnvs

I am aroused by sensation. I experience myself as I am in a new world. As if I am Sleeping Beauty waking up after 100 years of sleep and realizing I am in a different reality. Kissed awake by my prince sharming named Awareness. Oh boy and I love this new reality! I am IN my body with all of my senses highly activated. My curiousity brings me more and more INsight and most of all more pleasure. The first thing that really got to me this time is the power of subtlety. This new reality is companied with another phase of living life. It’s grounded, connected, slowed down, lot’s of pauses and so much beingness…sometimes many pauses blended together, creating a long pause in which the field of awareness expands and ecstasy exists. It’s over and over tuning into my body, communicating with it. Asking questions, lovingly asking what it desires or needs. It’s beautiful and so amazing when I receive the answer. In the past I had moments like this but now it’s more constant which I consciously choose to embody more and more. Expanding my awareness, increasing my body IQ.

I am just amazed about how much stimulation I can receive if I choose too. For me it has to do about choosing to be touched from the outside. To physically open my skin, cells and self to truly receive that ‘other’. It’s a constant practise to stay open especialy living in a city which can be overwhelming sometimes. But even now writing this blog….just noticing how my fingers feel typing on my laptop, receiving the people walking the streets, the birds I see and hear. Life becomes so much more fascinating when I slow down and look and receive what is. I chose and most of all desired it to happen a long time ago but it feels like I am now ready to receive it. As if I am now more firmly grounded in myself so I can let my defenses down and open. Knowing that I can stay connected and centered in myself when in relationship with the other or that other. This opens another field in which I am touched by the sounds of a bird, the tickling sensation in my spine, the sensation of a voice I hear and the look in somebody’s eyes. The openess is the same as nature is being right now in springtime. Besides that, by becoming more aware of this field of subtlety my intuition grows even more. I feel subtle changes in energy sooner. Subtle shifts in sensations, feelings, emotions. All giving me direction, guidance and answers. Being in my body now, doing my day to day activities feels like I am going out on a playdate with my body over and over again, having fun with sensing sensations! Just reminds me of a child, not needing much to have a great time.

Just for now as you are reading this blog….pause for a moment…sense your breath… your shoulders… sense your sitbones…legs and feet. Sense you arms and fingers, your posture and now….can you receive the sensations you receive from the subtle influences of the color of the letters in this blog, the sounds your computer makes, the light in the room. Activate all your senses (see, feel, taste, hear, smell) and notice what subtle sensations and information you receive through them in this moment. Everything counts, paying attention to the smallest detail. Often times we are mainly focused on what appears in front of us..so now expand your awareness around you, to your backside, underneath, above and at the sides of you. Now from this place of awareness you can also feel things that are maybe a little unpleasant, for example your posture, a sound you hear, your shoes that you have on…anything…notice it and make one change that could give you and your body more pleasure? Make that change and sense again…..Maybe there is a movement you want to make….make it…..and sense again…It’s an ongoing path to more and more pleasure.

On this moment I am playing with choices and tweaking. By tuning in to my bodily sensations I can sense the impact that ‘small things’ have. For example, the color of clothes I am wearing, the food I am eating, how I place a book on the table, the music I am playing, where I sit, what I say, and then having the intent to make life as pleasurable as possible. In this process a lot has to do with self-love and self-care. I notice that my self-love is growing from choosing pleasure. I just came back from a walk in the park and practised this while walking. Sensing my ankle joint, adjusting the placement of my feet (tweak), then holding my shoulders differently (tweak), then releasing my jaw (tweak), then moving my pelvis with more fluidity (tweak) and so on…My body is letting me know, through sensation, what to tweak to create sensational pleasure:-) How cool is that! Walking becomes a massage, a wellness treatment, nourishment for my body&soul. Just give it a try!

Tips for creating pleasure in your daily life: 

  • Pay attention to detail. Look at objects, people, nature, life with curiousity. As if you see it for the first time and let yourself be touched. In Nia we call this, perceiving ‘life as art’. How you use your eyes influences what you receive and how much you receive. The visual I often use to help me soften my eyes and receive ‘the other’ is imagening that my eyeball are laying down in a beach chair.
  • Tweak..tweak and tweak. You can do this whenever and with whatever you are doing. Even moving things in your livingroom and see if you sense more pleasure with this change. Awesome when you are doing your spring cleaning.
  • Create pauses in your day. Slow down. Breath…check-in with your body and ask what it needs or desires. Open yourself through all your sense for what is in the moment. In the beginning it can help to set a alarm as a reminder or choose specific moments such as waking up, or going to bed etc.
  • Create play dates with your body. Go out for a walk and make it the most pleasurable walk you ever had. Dance in your living, go to a Nia class or other movement practise and only choose pleasure. Intimately communicating with your body.

It’s so beautiful to also experience the power of focus and intention. Only two months ago I wrote my first blogpost and I shared my focus and intent for the year 2014…well….it’s happening. Thank you body, thank you mind and thank you Spirit!

That you all may be kissed ‘awake’ through sensation and touched by all that is presented to you right now, right here. If you feel like sharing your experiences, please do!

With love and pleasure,

Esther

One thought on “The Power of Subtlety

Leave a Reply

